KFGO team captures 10 broadcast excellence awards in six-state competition

The Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association is proud to announce the 2019 winners of the Eric Sevareid Awards.

BLOOMINGTON, MN (KFGO) – KFGO News, KFGO talk shows and KFGO and 740 The FAN sports were honored with 10 Eric Sevareid awards in the Midwest Broadcast Journalists Association competition in Bloomington over the weekend.

The Midwest Radio Fargo-Moorhead stations combined, won more than any other radio, TV or online news source in North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa, Nebraska and Wisconsin.

The Sevareid awards are named for North Dakota-born and University of Minnesota-educated journalist Eric Sevareid, who is best known for his work as a correspondent for CBS Radio and Television.

The KFGO/FAN winners are;

Investigative –

Don Haney, Cold Case

Jim Monk, Secret Deal

Soft Feature –

Jim Monk, I Can Handle This

Jim Monk, The Flame

Dan Michaels, The Christmas Gift

Sports Reporting –

Jack Michaels, Top Gun

Sportscast/Program –

Herd It Hear, Josh Swanson

Gone Outdoors, Kyle Agre and Scott Brewer

Talk/Public Affairs

The Heart Flight, Bob Harris

Teen Killers, Amy Iler and JJ Gordon